Finding a Kitten

After looking into cat breeders and rescue shelters, I decided the right thing to do would be to rescue a kitten that doesn’t have a home.There are so many great shelters out there that have countless animals in need, and as I mentioned earlier, I’ve always done my best to help save animals that need my help. It was not a hard decision to make, but it was difficult to decide which shelters to adopt from. There are two kinds of shelters, Kill Shelters, which only keep animals for a certain amount of time and if they’re not adopted then they are put to sleep (which I am completely against) and there are Non-Kill Shelters that keep the animals as long as it takes. The Non-Kill Shelters rely heavily on donations and the adoption fee’s to stay in business. It cost’s a lot of money for them to care for the animals and to help place them in homes, so I wanted to do my part and help support their cause. The next step was for me to find local shelters in Southern California that may have the kitten I’m looking for…which is harder than it sounds. The reason it was hard was because I started looking in January, that time of year is very difficult to find a kitten under 6 months old because they’re not really in season and quite rare. If I were to look in April then there would be tons of kittens available to pick and choose from. It took me a couple weeks of calling around and looking online but I finally found two kittens available at the Helen Woodward Animal Center which is about an hour from my house! I’ll tell you about the adoption process in my next post…

Leave a comment